top of page

BEING SMART IS NOT ENOUGH – DAVID L.DILAURA

When I was searching “advises for engineering students” in Google I found this pdf book : Being smart is not enough – Chautauquas for First-year engineering students

I thought this is just another book which has a mountain of advises like (study smarter-reach for your dreams-use your full potential- be all you can be) . we’ve been listening to such advises for a long time,, it tells us what we should do rather than how we can do it!

This book is different because it tells the how from an educator who worked with engineering students for 25 years!

The three main topics are: engaging in three activities: setting goals, acquiring skills, directing yourself. and these activates and skills is really what you should learn and acquire if you want to have a successful freshman year because being smart is not enough to have a good grade !

What’s my to-do list after reading this book?

  • we all have big goals we want to achieve but do we really work everyday toward that goal? I ‘ll break down my big goals into smaller and smaller goals I can do it everyday that lead to achieve the big one by using mind-map

  • our profession requires ‘Life-Long learning’ so I’m going to keep learning engineering materials even after finishing these 4 years

  • I’ll be using careful reading techniques ( Pace – Active mind’s voice – Writing and note taking ) and the techniques of how I can deal with mental distractions

  • lectures give a framework of understanding so I’m not going to suppose that I can understand everything during lectures

  • I’m going to use his method of note-taking and fill the gabs later using the text-book and this note will be my main resource of preparing for tests

  • to make my time schedule I’m going to recognize my current time allocation and with using the ‘syllabus’ I’ll add the important date and change my time schedule according to that

.

This is the first time I summarize a book using outline method, I hope it was good, if it isn’t please let me know!

Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page